Skip to main content


The 2023 EMS Question Bank will launch in June 2023.


You can sign up to be notified when the question bank launches by clicking on the “Pre-Register” button above.


The University at Buffalo, along with EMS physicians from throughout the country, have developed a peer reviewed online question bank as a study tool for the EMS Board Certification exam. The program contains of over 1,000 practice questions with explanations based on the Core Content of EMS Medicine and the EMS Exam Blueprint.

Terms Of Use

This program was designed for candidates who have registered for and are preparing for the EMS Board Certification Exam, but all are welcome to participate.  No part of this content may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, or otherwise, without prior written permission of UB|MD Emergency Medicine.  All rights reserved.  The 2019 content has not been validated to predict success on the EMS Board Certification exam.  Although we have made every effort to ensure that the information is correct, the sponsors, editors and contributors do not assume and hereby disclaim any liability to any party for any loss, damage, or disruption caused by errors or omissions, whether such errors or omissions result from negligence, accident, or any other cause. This content is an educational/study reference, and does not replace/supersede the clinical judgment of the treating physician with respect to appropriate and necessary care.

This program is not endorsed by or affiliated with the American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM), the Nation Association of EMS Physicians (NAEMSP) or the American College of Emergency Medicine (ACEP).

CME Information

2021 Buffalo EMS Question Bank



The University at Buffalo Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians.



The University at Buffalo Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences designates this internet enduring material for a maximum of 22.0 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)TM. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.



This system supports major popular browsers like Firefox (Version 24 or above), Chrome (Version 18 or above), Safari (Version 6 or above) and Internet Explorer (Version 11 or above). You can check your browser, system and network compatibility, go to dashboard and click “Check system compatibility” button located on right side. You may review the candidate video tutorial for more information



The estimated time to complete this program is 22 hours.



Date of original presentation – not applicable.

The start date for the program is June 1, 2021.

The end date is October 15, 2021.

All CME must be claimed by November 5, 2021.



At the conclusion of this session, the learner should be able to:

  1. Increase familiarity with EMS related questions
  2. Demonstrate an improved grasp of the fundamentals of the core content of EMS medicine
  3. To prepare the participant to perform direct and indirect patient care to prehospital patients.
  4. To build upon the participant‘s fund of pre hospital medical knowable.



The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) and the University at Buffalo Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences and Biomedical Sciences Standards for Commercial Support require that presentations are free of commercial bias and that any information regarding commercial products/services be based on scientific methods generally accepted by the medical community.

The following speaker(s) have disclosed financial interest/arrangements or affiliations with organization(s) that could be perceived as a real or apparent conflict of interest in the context of the subject of their presentation(s). Only the current arrangements/interests are included.

Brian Clemency, DO – Activity Director: Speaker/Consultant for Stryker/Physio Control

Johanna Innes MD: Nothing to Report

Michael O’Brien MD: Nothing to Report


ACCME Standards of Commercial Support of CME require that presentations be free of commercial bias and that any information regarding commercial products/services be based on scientific methods generally accepted by the medical community. When discussing therapeutic options, faculty are requested to use only generic names. If they use a trade name, then those of several companies should be used. If a presentation includes discussion of any unlabelled or investigational use of a commercial product, faculty are required to disclose this to the participants.


The EMS Question Bank is an educational program of the University at Buffalo.  It is not affiliated with NAEMSP, ACEP, ACGME or ABEM.

Editors and Contributors

Brian Clemency DO
University at Buffalo


Associate Editors
Johanna Innes MD
University at Buffalo
Christian Martin-Gill MD
University of Pittsburgh
Shira Schlesinger MD
Harbor-UCLA Medical Center
Michael O’Brien MD
University at Buffalo


Peter Antevy MD

Jenny Atas MD
Detroit Medical Center

Krystal Baciak MD
University of Chicago

Joshua Bucher MD
Morristown Medical Center

Jennifer Gibson Chambers DO
University at Buffalo

Matthew Chovaz MD
East Carolina University

Mario Colella MD
Medical College of Wisconsin

Craig Cooley MD
University of Texas at San Antonio

Derek Cooney MD
SUNY Upstate

Ryan Coughlin

Jeremiah Escajeda MD
University of Pittsburgh

Glenn Ekblad MD
Western Michigan University

William Fales, MD
Western Michigan University

Jason Fischel MD
Norwalk Hospital

Marshall Frank DO

Samuel Galvagno DO
University of Maryland

Christopher E. Gainey, MD
Palmetto Health

Kenneth Hanson MD
Central Michigan University

Jeff Jarvis MD
Texas A&M

Daniel Joseph MD

Christian Knutsen MD
SUNY Upstate

Julio Lairet MD
Emory University

Jeffrey Lubin MD
Penn State

Kevin Mackey MD
Kaiser Permanente, South Sacramento

Christopher Mitchell MD

Julian Mapp MD
University of Texas at San Antonio

Juan March MD
East Carolina University

Darrell Nelson MD
Wake Forest University

Dan O’Donnell MD
Indiana University

Dipesh Patel MD
Harbor-UCLA Medical Center

Alex Petrosian MD
University at Buffalo

Roberto Portela MD
East Carolina University

Nick Rathert MD
Albany Medical Center

Kevin Schultz MD
University of Texas – Houston

Salvatore Silvestri MD
University of Central Florida

Kathy Staats MD
University of California, San Diego

Doug Swanson MD
Carolinas Medical Center

Kaori Tanaka DO
University of Texas at San Antonio

Christine Van Dillen MD
University of Florida

Stefanie Wise MD
Wayne State University

Jeff Young MD
University of Virginia